TOTAL BODY MRI Now Offered at Ackerman Cancer Center

Call (904) 880-5522 Pay Your Bill
Select Page

Scot Ackerman, M.D., FACR

Scot Ackerman, M.D., FACR

Scot Ackerman, M.D., Board Certified in Radiation Oncology, is the Medical Director of Ackerman Cancer Center and is an honorary Fellow of the American College of Radiology. After completing his training at Columbia University in New York City, he came to Jacksonville and has been in private practice for more than 35 years, serving as an integral force in Florida’s fight against cancer. He held the position of Chief of Radiation Oncology at St. Vincent’s Medical Center prior to opening Ackerman Cancer Center in 1997.

Currently, Dr. Ackerman oversees the Ackerman Cancer Foundation and is a board member of WeCare Jacksonville. He was appointed to the Florida Board of Medicine by Governor Ron Desantis and also works alongside the First Lady of Florida, Casey Desantis, on the Florida Cancer Connect Collaborative.

Professional Membership

  • American College of Radiology
  • American Medical Association
  • American Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology
  • Duval County Medical Society
  • Florida Medical Association
  • Florida Society of Clinical Oncologists
  • New York Roentgen Society
  • Radiological Society of North America

Community & Civic Membership

  • American Cancer Society, Jacksonville Beaches Unit
    • Board of Directors, 1996–1998
    • Executive Committee, 1989–1996
    • President, 1991–1992
  • American Cancer Society, Duval County
    • Board of Directors, 1992–2010
    • President, 1996–1998
    • Vice President, Medical Affairs, 1999–2000
  • American Cancer Society, Florida Division Board
    • President, 2000–2001
    • Board of Directors, 1994–2006
    • Chairman, Patient Services Subcommittee, 1995–1996
    • Chairman, Program Committee, 1997–1999
    • Medical Vice President, 1998–1999
    • National Assembly Delegate, 2000–2006
    • Cancer Control Committee, 2003–2006
  • St. Vincent’s Foundation
    • Board of Directors, 1994–2010
    • Chairman of the Board, 2003–2005
  • Baptist Health System
    • Breast Program Leadership Team, 2012–present